the world changer

When I was in tenth grade we had to write a ten page report on a significant world leader. I chose Adolph Hitler. When the preacher’s kid chooses Hitler, the room stops and stares! Even the very strict Ms. Andrews pulled me aside and said I could have a topic redo if I wanted. I mean, I could have chosen Gandhi or even Jesus…but I chose to spend three months reading about genocide, concentration camps, and the Diary of Anne Frank.

I was sticking to my decision.

After only a few minutes of researching the Holocaust in the Dothan High library, I realized my decision might have been hasty. But I pressed on. I believe those moments may have shaped my world-changer-heart and secured my passion for breaking the back of injustice. (See the full story.)

My sweet friend, Tiffany hooks me up daily with Amazon Freebies via text. My iphone kindle app bookshelf is becoming quite full thanks to her saavy finds. (She’s a 3-ring-binder couponer and mom to toddler, hence her off-the-chain freebie skills.)

Yesterday her find led me to “Bonhoeffer: Pastor, Martyr, Prophet, Spy.” I have heard a little of Dietrich Bonhoeffer, but look forward to reading of this man’s faith, through one of the most difficult times our world has ever seen. Reading this book description, and walking down tenth grade memory lane, I’m reminded that we have it so easy. Our life is so blessed.

Perspective is often the best form of clarity.

Keith’s mom was diagnosed with cancer last week. (More on that…). On the same day we heard of her news, Keith’s 4 year old nephew was having surgury. And, on my way to work that same day, our “Old Blackie” a 1998 Isuzu Rodeo broke down, leaving me stranded and sweating on the roadside for about an hour. This week, the refrigerator decided to fritz out, ruining most of our cold groceries.

Our life has been a little difficult recently.

When we heard the news of cancer, the song playing in the background was “Sing Hallelujah!” Our truck is in repair, and having to bum rides with friends has actually been kinda fun! Our fridge miraculously started working again (we really didn’t need those 3 ice cream sandwiches and the 2 year old deer steak anyway). Our nephew is doing great. And we are believing the same for Keith’s mom.

We know God is in control.

I can’t wait to dig into some of my new Kindle freebies, and cheapies. Do you have any favorite reads or lovely freebies?

One thought on “the world changer

  1. Tiffany says:

    Aww! I never saw this post! How incredible! I have always been fascinated by Hitler and the persecution of the jews too. I did a report on him when I was in 7th grade. Oh–and thanks for the shout out! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

