the time to decide

20120822-204054.jpgThe timer is set for 10 minutes. The paper and pen are in front of you.

–You have 10 minutes to decide how you are going to spend the rest of your life.

Ready?

Go!

Its scary! We’re more comfortable maintaining the day to day “dull-ities” than we are chasing our biggest life desire. So we dream, fantasize, drool and ponder the what if’s. We spend just about every free moment discussing what we long to be doing, while we give our life away to what we long NOT to be doing. Doesn’t make sense does it?

The Apostle Paul says it clear to the Romans, (7:19), “I do what I don’t want to do, but then I don’t do what I want to do.” Even the great apostle recognized his lack of decision-ability.

How many months and years drag on before actually deciding what your going to do “when you grow up?” I’ll confess, as of 33, my major in life is still “undecided.” Or rather, life has been much like my college days declaring a new major based on the cute boys or the potential career earnings. (My apologies to the Atlanta Braves, for never finishing that sports therapy degree, and to the Department of Education who could have hired me has a Kindergarten teacher, and to McDonalds Corporation who surely would have hired me as their Global Marketing Director). Lets face it, I have jumped more ships than Captain Sparrow.

My honey man and I recently evaluated the number of years we have been dreaming of the life we want to live. We quickly realized we have both spent a lifetime, as Paul says “doing what I don’t want to do.”

Maybe the deadline doesn’t need to be 10 minutes, or hours or days. Or maybe it only takes one single life altering moment, to be forever changed.  It’s time to decide.

Deadlines are to decisions as fuel is to fire…extremely flammable!

Armed with this truth what do you do?

The paper and pen are in front of you.

The timer is set.

Ready?

Go!

  • Warning: this exercise may lead to heart palpitations, stomach ulcers, Irritable Bowel Syndrome, heartburn, nausea, dizziness, migraines, dry mouth, irritability, stress, chronic fatigue, depression & researching WebMD for signs of BiPolar disorder. Proceed with caution.
Leave a Reply

